Skip to main content
Study Guide

Washington Permit Test Study Guide

Every key concept from the official handbook, organized by topic.

Direct answer

Washington permit-test facts: Questions: 40; To pass: 32 out of 40 correct (80%); Minimum age: 15 years if taking an approved driver-training course; otherwise wait until 15½ for a permit; Fee: $35 learner-permit fee; Re-takes: A learner permit can be renewed twice; after two renewals, a new permit requires retaking the knowledge test unless enrolled in a driver-training course; failed-test waiting period is location-dependent/not specified; Official handbook: Washington State Driver Guide.

Each field links to the primary official source used for its review. A field marked not stated means the reviewed source did not publish that requested fact; confirm current application details with the authority.

Washington permit-test fact sheet and evidence status
FactAnswerEvidence status
Questions40Verified against cited official source
To pass32 out of 40 correct (80%)Verified against cited official source
Minimum age15 years if taking an approved driver-training course; otherwise wait until 15½ for a permitVerified against cited official source
Fee$35 learner-permit feeVerified against cited official source
Re-takesA learner permit can be renewed twice; after two renewals, a new permit requires retaking the knowledge test unless enrolled in a driver-training course; failed-test waiting period is location-dependent/not specifiedVerified against cited official source
Official handbookWashington State Driver GuideVerified against cited official source

5 topics · 8 explanations

Ready to practice?

Sign up free — unlimited practice questions and progress tracking.

Start free practice

We use optional cookies to help improve your experience. They stay off unless you accept. Privacy Policy