Utah Permit Test Study Guide
Every key concept from the official handbook, organized by topic.
Direct answer
Utah permit-test facts: Questions: 50 questions for never licensed (closed-book); 25 questions for previously licensed (open-book); To pass: Applicant must pass the written knowledge test; numeric passing score is not stated; Minimum age: 15 years minimum; Utah lists separate permit requirements for ages 15, 16–17, 18, and 19+; Fee: $19 learner-permit fee; Re-takes: May test twice in one day; after three failures, a second fee is required and a retest appointment is needed; Official handbook: Utah Driver Handbook (2026 link on the current DLD page).
Each field links to the primary official source used for its review. A field marked not stated means the reviewed source did not publish that requested fact; confirm current application details with the authority.
| Fact | Answer | Evidence status |
|---|---|---|
| Questions | 50 questions for never licensed (closed-book); 25 questions for previously licensed (open-book) | Verified against cited official source |
| To pass | Applicant must pass the written knowledge test; numeric passing score is not stated | Verified against cited official source |
| Minimum age | 15 years minimum; Utah lists separate permit requirements for ages 15, 16–17, 18, and 19+ | Verified against cited official source |
| Fee | $19 learner-permit fee | Verified against cited official source |
| Re-takes | May test twice in one day; after three failures, a second fee is required and a retest appointment is needed | Verified against cited official source |
| Official handbook | Utah Driver Handbook (2026 link on the current DLD page) | Verified against cited official source |
Official source
Field evidence reviewed: 2026-09-14 (retrieved)
5 topics · 8 explanations
Ready to practice?
Sign up free — unlimited practice questions and progress tracking.
Start free practice
