Skip to main content
Study Guide

Texas Permit Test Study Guide

Every key concept from the official handbook, organized by topic.

Direct answer

Texas permit-test facts: Questions: Not stated in the reviewed official source.; To pass: 70% or better; Minimum age: 15 through 18 for a Texas learner license (instruction permit); Fee: $16 for a learner license at age 15 with driver education ($15 license + $1 administrative fee); Re-takes: If knowledge or driving exams are not passed on the first attempt, the application is held 90 days; after 90 days or 3 failed exams, a new application and fee are required; Official handbook: Texas Driver Handbook (DL-7).

Each field links to the primary official source used for its review. A field marked not stated means the reviewed source did not publish that requested fact; confirm current application details with the authority.

Texas permit-test fact sheet and evidence status
FactAnswerEvidence status
QuestionsNot stated in the reviewed official source.Not stated on the cited official page
To pass70% or betterVerified against cited official source
Minimum age15 through 18 for a Texas learner license (instruction permit)Verified against cited official source
Fee$16 for a learner license at age 15 with driver education ($15 license + $1 administrative fee)Verified against cited official source
Re-takesIf knowledge or driving exams are not passed on the first attempt, the application is held 90 days; after 90 days or 3 failed exams, a new application and fee are requiredVerified against cited official source
Official handbookTexas Driver Handbook (DL-7)Verified against cited official source

Official source

Field evidence reviewed: 2026-09-14 (retrieved)

6 topics · 10 explanations

Ready to practice?

Sign up free — unlimited practice questions and progress tracking.

Start free practice

We use optional cookies to help improve your experience. They stay off unless you accept. Privacy Policy