South Dakota Permit Test Study Guide
Every key concept from the official handbook, organized by topic.
Direct answer
South Dakota permit-test facts: Questions: The South Dakota noncommercial sources reviewed do not state the knowledge-test question count.; To pass: Must pass the required knowledge test; no numeric passing threshold is stated in the reviewed noncommercial sources.; Minimum age: 14 for an under-18 instruction permit; the manual separately describes an over-18 instruction permit.; Fee: $38 instruction permit; Re-takes: Noncommercial knowledge-test retake policy not stated in the reviewed official sources.; Official handbook: South Dakota Driver License Manual.
Each field links to the primary official source used for its review. A field marked not stated means the reviewed source did not publish that requested fact; confirm current application details with the authority.
| Fact | Answer | Evidence status |
|---|---|---|
| Questions | The South Dakota noncommercial sources reviewed do not state the knowledge-test question count. | Not stated on the cited official page |
| To pass | Must pass the required knowledge test; no numeric passing threshold is stated in the reviewed noncommercial sources. | Verified against cited official source |
| Minimum age | 14 for an under-18 instruction permit; the manual separately describes an over-18 instruction permit. | Verified against cited official source |
| Fee | $38 instruction permit | Verified against cited official source |
| Re-takes | Noncommercial knowledge-test retake policy not stated in the reviewed official sources. | Not stated on the cited official page |
| Official handbook | South Dakota Driver License Manual | Verified against cited official source |
Official source
Field evidence reviewed: 2026-09-14 (retrieved)
5 topics · 8 explanations
Ready to practice?
Sign up free — unlimited practice questions and progress tracking.
Start free practice
