New Mexico Permit Test Study Guide
Every key concept from the official handbook, organized by topic.
Direct answer
New Mexico permit-test facts: Questions: Not stated in the reviewed official New Mexico sources.; To pass: 70% or better for Class D and M written tests; Minimum age: 15 years for an instructional permit; Fee: $10 instructional permit fee; Re-takes: Non-commercial knowledge exams may be taken twice per week, including twice the same day; after a third failure, wait 6 months from the first examination; Official handbook: New Mexico English Driver's Manual (linked by MVD; 2019 edition).
Each field links to the primary official source used for its review. A field marked not stated means the reviewed source did not publish that requested fact; confirm current application details with the authority.
| Fact | Answer | Evidence status |
|---|---|---|
| Questions | Not stated in the reviewed official New Mexico sources. | Not stated on the cited official page |
| To pass | 70% or better for Class D and M written tests | Verified against cited official source |
| Minimum age | 15 years for an instructional permit | Verified against cited official source |
| Fee | $10 instructional permit fee | Verified against cited official source |
| Re-takes | Non-commercial knowledge exams may be taken twice per week, including twice the same day; after a third failure, wait 6 months from the first examination | Verified against cited official source |
| Official handbook | New Mexico English Driver's Manual (linked by MVD; 2019 edition) | Verified against cited official source |
Official source
Field evidence reviewed: 2026-09-14 (retrieved)
5 topics · 8 explanations
Ready to practice?
Sign up free — unlimited practice questions and progress tracking.
Start free practice
