Montana Permit Test Study Guide
Every key concept from the official handbook, organized by topic.
Direct answer
Montana permit-test facts: Questions: Not stated in the reviewed official Montana sources.; To pass: Applicant must pass the written test; numeric threshold is not stated; Minimum age: Varies by issuing authority — confirm locally; Fee: Age-dependent NCL learner-license fee, no motorcycle endorsement: $36.57 at age 14.5–15, $31.42 at age 15, $26.27 at age 16, $21.12 at age 17, down to $5.67 at age 20; REAL ID totals are listed separately; Re-takes: The licensing receipt allows 3 attempts within one year to pass all required examinations; Official handbook: Montana Driver Manual (May 2026).
Each field links to the primary official source used for its review. A field marked not stated means the reviewed source did not publish that requested fact; confirm current application details with the authority.
| Fact | Answer | Evidence status |
|---|---|---|
| Questions | Not stated in the reviewed official Montana sources. | Not stated on the cited official page |
| To pass | Applicant must pass the written test; numeric threshold is not stated | Verified against cited official source |
| Minimum age | Varies by issuing authority — confirm locally | Varies by issuing authority — confirm locally |
| Fee | Age-dependent NCL learner-license fee, no motorcycle endorsement: $36.57 at age 14.5–15, $31.42 at age 15, $26.27 at age 16, $21.12 at age 17, down to $5.67 at age 20; REAL ID totals are listed separately | Verified against cited official source |
| Re-takes | The licensing receipt allows 3 attempts within one year to pass all required examinations | Verified against cited official source |
| Official handbook | Montana Driver Manual (May 2026) | Verified against cited official source |
Official source
Field evidence reviewed: 2026-09-14 (retrieved)
5 topics · 8 explanations
Ready to practice?
Sign up free — unlimited practice questions and progress tracking.
Start free practice
