Indiana Permit Test Study Guide
Every key concept from the official handbook, organized by topic.
Direct answer
Indiana permit-test facts: Questions: The official knowledge-exam page describes two sections but does not state a total question count.; To pass: 80% or higher correct on each of the two exam components; Minimum age: 15 with enrollment in an approved behind-the-wheel course; 16 without driver education; Fee: $9 learner's permit; Re-takes: After failing, wait until the next business day before another knowledge exam; a permit knowledge exam must be retaken if the permit has been expired more than 180 days.; Official handbook: Indiana Driver's Manual.
Each field links to the primary official source used for its review. A field marked not stated means the reviewed source did not publish that requested fact; confirm current application details with the authority.
| Fact | Answer | Evidence status |
|---|---|---|
| Questions | The official knowledge-exam page describes two sections but does not state a total question count. | Not stated on the cited official page |
| To pass | 80% or higher correct on each of the two exam components | Verified against cited official source |
| Minimum age | 15 with enrollment in an approved behind-the-wheel course; 16 without driver education | Verified against cited official source |
| Fee | $9 learner's permit | Verified against cited official source |
| Re-takes | After failing, wait until the next business day before another knowledge exam; a permit knowledge exam must be retaken if the permit has been expired more than 180 days. | Verified against cited official source |
| Official handbook | Indiana Driver's Manual | Verified against cited official source |
Official source
Field evidence reviewed: 2026-09-14 (retrieved)
5 topics · 8 explanations
Ready to practice?
Sign up free — unlimited practice questions and progress tracking.
Start free practice
