Illinois Permit Test Study Guide
Every key concept from the official handbook, organized by topic.
Direct answer
Illinois permit-test facts: Questions: 35; To pass: Must pass the applicable written exam; a numeric passing threshold is not stated on the cited permit page.; Minimum age: 15 for the under-18 instruction-permit path; applicants age 18 and older have a separate one-year permit path.; Fee: $20 original Class D instruction permit; Re-takes: Knowledge-test retake policy not stated in the cited official sources.; Official handbook: Illinois Rules of the Road.
Each field links to the primary official source used for its review. A field marked not stated means the reviewed source did not publish that requested fact; confirm current application details with the authority.
| Fact | Answer | Evidence status |
|---|---|---|
| Questions | 35 | Verified against cited official source |
| To pass | Must pass the applicable written exam; a numeric passing threshold is not stated on the cited permit page. | Verified against cited official source |
| Minimum age | 15 for the under-18 instruction-permit path; applicants age 18 and older have a separate one-year permit path. | Verified against cited official source |
| Fee | $20 original Class D instruction permit | Verified against cited official source |
| Re-takes | Knowledge-test retake policy not stated in the cited official sources. | Not stated on the cited official page |
| Official handbook | Illinois Rules of the Road | Verified against cited official source |
Official source
Field evidence reviewed: 2026-09-14 (retrieved)
5 topics · 8 explanations
Ready to practice?
Sign up free — unlimited practice questions and progress tracking.
Start free practice
